APHA Get Ready Scholarship past winners

APHA's Get Ready campaign has been awarding scholarships since 2009. Information on the latest round of the Get Ready Scholarship can be found on the scholarship's main Web page.


2013 Get Ready Scholarship winners

• Colin Maloney: Saint Ignatius High School, Cleveland, Ohio (high school level)
• Brittany Yopp: Isaac Bear Early College High School, Wilmington, N.C. (high school level)
• Ashlee Benge: Goucher College, Cedar Park, Texas (undergraduate level)
• Makedah Johnson: University of Maryland, Silver Spring, Md. (undergraduate level)
• Fabienne Lorenz: California State University-Northridge, Reseda, Calif. (graduate level)
• Anjani Parikh: Virginia Commonwealth University, Glen Allen, Va.. (graduate level)

Read excerpts from the 2013 winning essays


2012 Get Ready Scholarship winners

Craig Earley: Powder River County District High School, Broadus, Mont. (high school level)
Devika Patel: Montclair Kimberley Academy, Parsippany, N.J. (high school level)
Ryan Masterson: Hunter College, New Haven, Conn. (undergraduate level)
Kiyra A. L. Crooks: University of Texas at San Antonio, San Antonio, Texas (undergraduate level)
Nicole Pristera: Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Cleveland, Ohio (graduate level)
Kimberley Kurek: George Mason University, School of Nursing, Washington, D.C. (graduate level)

Read excerpts from the 2012 winning essays


2011 Get Ready Scholarship winners

• Katherine Double: Bear Creek High School, Lakewood, Colo. (high school level)
• Amy Miller: Yukon High School, Yukon, Okla. (high school level)
• Alex Ghenis: University of California-Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif. (undergraduate level)
• Katelyn Somers: University of Maryland, College Park, Md. (undergraduate level)
• Alana Massey: Yale University, New Haven, Conn. (graduate level)
• Leanne Piña: University of Texas, Houston, Texas (graduate level)

Read excerpts from the 2011 winning essays


2010 Get Ready Scholarship winners

• Leah Wight: Golden Valley High School, Merced, Calif. (high school level)
• Courtney Farr: Robert L. Patton High School, Morganton, N.C. (high school level)
• Brittany Voorhees: Holy Names University, Oakland, Calif. (undergraduate level)
• Delaney Moore: Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Indianapolis, Ind. (undergraduate level)
• Tazeen Dhanani: George Mason University, Fairfax, Va. (graduate level)
• Kristen Paz: Pepperdine University, Malibu, Calif. (graduate level)

Read excerpts from the 2010 winning essays


2009 Get Ready Scholarship winners

• David Amutah: The importance of emergency preparation
• Katelyn M. Kersey: Emergency preparedness and hurricanes
• Alyssia B. Whitney: Preparing now can help you be safe later